stilldisco.blogg.se

Can i install new hard drive macbook a1181
Can i install new hard drive macbook a1181






  1. Can i install new hard drive macbook a1181 64 Bit#
  2. Can i install new hard drive macbook a1181 update#

If you choose this arrangement, then you must hybrid partition the boot drive. Many BIOS booting Linux distributions use a BIOS/GPT arrangement. This does not present a problem when using BIOS/MBR arrangement. However, Intel Macs require a well formed MBR table in order to BIOS boot. Note: BIOS booting normally does not require a MBR table.

can i install new hard drive macbook a1181

See: About EFI and SMC firmware updates for Intel-based Mac computers.

Can i install new hard drive macbook a1181 update#

I should also note that some early Macs needed a firmware update before being able to run BIOS booting operating systems. It would be helpful if you could list the ID and/or family for both Macs.Īccording to the website, possible IDs and corresponding families for the A1181 are given below.

Can i install new hard drive macbook a1181 64 Bit#

These machines can run 32 bit or 64 bit BIOS booting operating systems, but only 64 bit EFI booting operating systems.

  • Later models have "Core 2 Duo" processors with 64 bit EFIs.
  • These machines can run 32 bit or 64 bit BIOS booting operating systems, but only 32 bit EFI booting operating systems. These are 64 bit machines, however the EFI is still 32 bit.
  • Middle models have "Core 2 Duo" processors.
  • These machines can only run 32 bit BIOS or EFI booting operating systems.
  • Early models have "Core Duo" processors.
  • Other than some being black and others being white, here are some other differences. A list of the specs for various A1181's are given at this website. How can I proceed to to get this MacBook to boot into any OS? I installed Linux and put the drive in and now it just sits at a white screen with a mouse cursor.

    can i install new hard drive macbook a1181

    I figured that if I got this drive to be identified I could install Linux on it from the black MacBook and then just put it in the white one and it would boot. Then, after putting the original hard drive back something changed and the hard drive showed up but with the name Windows and when it would boot it would say no operating system. I read online that it’s either a bad hard drive or RAM so I tried swapping them both out with the parts from my black MacBook with no luck. When I turn it on I get a flashing folder icon with a question mark. The second one (the white MacBook) arrived today and unfortunately I haven’t been able to get it to boot into anything. I installed Devuan on it and everything was good. I bought the first one (the black one) a while ago and haven’t had any problems with it.

    can i install new hard drive macbook a1181

    I have two MacBook a1181’s, a black one and a white one.








    Can i install new hard drive macbook a1181